A Path Towards True Love

Meeting people from different cultures and from all walks of life is one of the most fulfilling and pleasurable parts of my life. In one way or another we affect, and are affected by the people we meet, this happens instinctively and on a subconscious level, through words, thoughts feelings, and through body language. With some of them I exchange words, while with others I communicate by passing a smile. Every one of them has something to teach me regardless. One of those beautiful people that I have so far met in my life is a lady who is a Grand-Ma of two kids and soon the two other baby girls will arrive.

The Grand-Ma calls me ‘Girl-friend’. She is smart, tall, and beautiful always up with a big cheesy smile on her face. Her loud energetic voice always fascinates me to go and talk to her, which I often do, But since she has a lot to do, I do not bother her all the time. I love her Red-Sun glasses and yes her white beautiful teeth are just wow!  (I do not like to refer to ppl by skin color but I have impression she is from somewhere in Africa. When I meet her next time, I will definitely ask where she comes from)

So today, on my way to Market I saw her, with her loud voice from the other side of the road waving her hand saying Hi my girl friend. When the traffic signal turned green, she crossed the road and came closer to me. I as usual started asking about her and her daughter’s health, who is eight months pregnant with twins.  Grand-Ma like always with positive energy replied all is well; God is there he will take care of everything. Thank you for asking she smiled.  Oh to tell you a truth, This lovely Grand-Ma  would always tell me that she loves me and I know she does, our feelings are mutual. I love her the way she is, unique and beautiful in her own way.

Her positive attitudes always impress me, regardless of how stressful the situation might be or how hard life might get, smile will never be missing from her face. So finally I asked her; what is the secret behind her positive energy, and smile on her face. She laughed and said:

You know my girl friend. I am married to God, I do all those things that make him happy and because I love him and everything that I do for him transfers  positive energy in me which enables me to anticipate happiness, health and success. Consequently, that all makes me  believe that I  can overcome any obstacle and difficulty in life. She went deeper and also explained what love means to her.

She said, If you want to comfort yourself love something to its fullest, be that anyone or anything. I love God and my relation with him is beyond all explanations and beyond all comprehension. All day long, I help people, I take care of my two grand children, I do yoga/meditation, I talk with people, I listen music, I pray,  I spread positive energy, I do not hate,  and when I go to my bed at night, I say Thank you God. She explained that all with a lot of interest. When she got the feeling that I got her entire points she said; Okay I have to go now girl friend. Prior to she left I asked her she can call on me anytime she needs help. She replied, I submitted myself to God he is taking care of everything. You also keep my daughters in your prayers.

The reason behind writing this blog is that  from my today’s interaction with her I have learnt  three lessons

  • Positive energy/ attitude
  • Meditation
  • Love without expectation

Positive Energy: we know that we can’t control the events in our life. We can’t control the actions of others. Life is full of unexpected challenges and opportunities, we will always be tested on our journey but how we react towards those entire events will determine the outcome. Negativism will not help at all rather negative thoughts, words and attitude; create negative unhappy feelings, and behavior. When the mind is negative, poisons are released into the blood, which cause more unhappiness and stress. This leads to failure, frustration and disappointment which will eventually ruin our life. But Positivism or Positive energy is something which will save us regardless of how wrong things may go because  positive thinking is an optimistic state of mind, which sees the bright side of life in every situation, positive energy brings more harmony and happiness, improves affairs, adds success and comfort  into our life.

Meditation: We believe that everything in this world is recycling material; everything goes to where they came from it is the law of nature.   Let’s take an example of one out of four seasons. ‘Autumn’ when the autumn season comes, the leaves fall and go back to the soil and nature has its own way to re-cycle them. The natural tendency to re-cycle all that we have collected in day to day life as impressions, getting rid of them and getting back to the original state that we were when we dawned on this planet is what meditation is. Becoming fresh again, alive again is what mediation is. Getting back to that serenity which is your original nature is meditation. Absolute joy and happiness is meditation it comforts soul relief all anxieties and stress.

Love:  Before I write something about love, I like to write one of my most favorite poems by my most favorite Pashtun Poet.  Ghani Khan 

 Poems – translation

I do not need your red sculpted lips, Nor hair in loops like a serpent,s coils

Nor a nape as graceful as a swan,s, Nor narcissus eyes full of drunkenness,

Nor teeth as perfect as pearls of heaven, Nor cheeks ruddy and full as pomegranates,

Nor a voice mellifluous as a sarinda, Nor a figure as elegant as a poplar,

But show me just this one thing, my love, I seek a heart stained like a poppy flower

Pearls by millions I would gladly cede, For the sake of tears borne of love and grief.

Love  for me  is, kindness, joy, beauty, Humanity Passion, Madness, etc its really beyond the world of materialism. My this friend is married to God and she is fulfilling all the values of humanity in return she does not ask for anything she rather thanks God for giving her another day to make him and his creatures happy. I always thought it’s great to be loved than to love but No; ‘to-love’ is greater than to be loved. When you love someone by all your heart in mind it gives joy and you feel at peace.

Moral: Always see positive side of life, spread positive energy, do meditation either its  prayers yoga or music. Love to the fullest without expectation and condition either it’s with God, Human or anything else.

People we meet on our way we may never to meet again what can be greater than leaving a lasting impression and great memories behind. Surly we will return from where we come from.

The Pashto version of the Poem can be found here: http://allpoetry.com/Entreaty-[with-English-translation]

Leave a Reply

