It Is All Within Yourself

Every one of us experiences an unhappy mood and depression on occasion or day to day life. Some of us experience temporary bout of unhappiness and depression while the others live a habitually unhappy depressed life. Research has identified a number of factors that contribute to causing symptoms of depression. However, the five major factors are: “situations, thoughts, emotions, physical state and actions”. Each of these factors can play a significant role in the development of depression and depression can have an impact all of them in our life.

Likewise any other human, I also go through ups and downs of life which affects my mood and depresses me.  Depression is very rare to me and even when I get depressed its temporary.  It usually lasts maximum for a day or two, otherwise it’s between 10 to 20 minutes average. The secret behind this is that I am not a person to spend my life feeling sorry about myself. I am well aware that life is full of challenges. Sometimes I win while other time I lose.  I do not beat myself up for anything unpleasant or unfair that happens to me. I am not revengeful either. I let go of things that are not in my control.

But, I do have ‘mood-swing’ issues and I admit that! My mood can swing for apparent and sometime no apparent reasons. If my Mom finds me in off mood in the morning, she will probably say that she ‘woke up on the wrong or left side of the bed. I love her so I don’t reply her back; otherwise, logically it doesn’t make sense to me.  The side of the bed that I get up is unlikely to really have much to do with my mood at all.  Also, there isn’t enough conclusive evidence to proof that getting up on left or right side  makes any difference.

 One of the major factors that can affect my mood is the weather. This is called ‘seasonal effective disorder’. I am a sun-shine person. I just love sun. Smile is hardly missed from my face and I like to laugh unless someone really gets under my skin. It is a different scenario and I am horrible then.  Other than that, I always stay positive and energetic. Long sunny days make me optimistic about life. On sunny days, I do loads of things. I go for walk for hours. I do window-shopping and meet friends, etc. Hmmm, the reason behind my obsession with the sun could be that the sunlight is a natural source of vitamin D so I feel energized by the positive stimulus of light.  Yesterday was good sunny day and I was all happy and cheered. However, when I woke up this morning the sun was missing. It was a foggy day and it rained the entire time 😦 .

I was depressed and cranky until 5:30 p.m. I was feeling quite bored so I decided to go for grocery shopping but since it was raining I did not enjoy that at all and came back home. I have plenty of tears. They just need a stupid reason to pour, which people think is good because it is a ‘transform of emotion’. I was in the process of cleaning up my tears when one of my good friends called. We talked for more than two hours. Although I always enjoy talking to her and we have many things in common, I did not enjoy the conversation due to the weather and my mood swings. I tried hard to change my mood but was not able to do that.  Therefore, I had to say bye to her and went to bed to sleep for a while.

I went to my bed and laid down but did not fall asleep. I woke up look at my mobile it was almost 5:30 p.m. I had a meeting with a personal trainer at the gym at 6:00 p.m. I do not like breaking commitments. No matter what I had to be at the gym by 6:00. I prepared for the gym and decided to stay there for couple of hours. On the way from home to gym, I thought with myself that rain is another beautiful blessing of nature. I might not like it but many people need and like it. I tried to enjoy rain from my home until I get to the gym. When I entered the gym, the load music and the crowd of multicultural people was adding to the beauty of lights.

I meet my trainer we chatted for a while and then I started my work out. I exercised almost for 3 hours.  A secret, 45 minutes was spent only listening to the trainer’s advises and suggestions ;). Anyways, I have few friends at the gym. I met them today. After the workout, I came home with a happy mood; I cooked, ate and wrote this wonderful piece. I was supposed to do my laundry which I skipped 😛

Moral: You are the main source of your happiness. Happiness is not something that one can give it to you. You have to find it within yourself.  If something goes wrong in your life or if you’re upset and down because of something look up at something better in your life.  What we dislike is maybe liked by others so we should respect and enjoy it because it might be valuable for others if not to us. There is always something to be grateful for. It is assured that nothing lasts forever so if it’s a bad weather it will end and sun will raise the next day. There is always a sunny day after every dark and foggy day. During winter it hardly applies to the beautiful Toronto though 😉

“Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking.”

3 thoughts on “It Is All Within Yourself

  1. Thank you for the comment!
    Well, people often say I am depressed hence I mentioned the main factors that can cause depression so people could realize wither they are depressed or they are suffering from Mood disorders.

    Like

Leave a Reply

