The Grass Is Always Greener On The Other Side Of The Fence

After eight hours of office work and two hours of traveling, all I want to do is go to my bed and sleep. Apparently, life has become so busy for me that I hardly find time for any social activity. This week I was invited to three places: a picnic, birthday party and lunch — all of them were my dear friends and family members, but I had to decline as I was not feeling well. It was Sunday, I had a little fever and felt so down but I had to do grocery shopping, go to my old place to pick up my letters, and request an appointment with my family doctor. Hence, I couldn’t resist staying the whole weekend in bed. And, yet, I got up, got ready, and prepared to finish all my work.

Oh, and I also had to go to the bank. As I entered the bank, one of the bank officials, after greeting me, said, “Can I ask you something?”

“Sure, go ahead,” I replied.

Official: “Could you tell me how to be happy or how can I be happy?”

Me: “Why are you asking me?”

Official: “Because you seem and you probably are the only person who is tension free, happy, and has no problems in life at all….”

His response took me by a lot of surprise. So, I started to question him, “Do you know anything about my life? Do you know the hard time I go through?”

Official: “No…”

Me: “Where does your family live?”

Official: “Here. In Toronto.”

Me: “When you read or hear about a suicide attack, whom do you want to call first? Mom, Dad, sister, brother, uncle, aunts?

Official: “No one. We don’t have war back in our home.”

Me: ” You see, I have all these problems that many like you do not have. Now you are the judge decide who has a more peaceful and happier life?”

Official: “I am sorry for that; I thought you are the happiest but from now on I won’t judge unless I know their story behind someone’s happy face.”

Considering how serious our conversation was, I decided to crackup the official, just to lighten up the mood.

Me: “One thing more, once I finish my work here, I also plan to go see my family doctor because I have fever and want to be all right for work tomorrow. I’ve officially become a workaholic!” (Yes in real I went to see my doctor that day)

Official: “I pray God help you and protect your family.”

The perception of this official of me was nothing else but comparison.  I know sometimes life gets so hard and things can be worse, as we start thinking that we are the only person that has problems. But when you think about it, everybody has problems, maybe not the same problems as mine or yours. I don’t think anyone has gone through life without having problems. When you think that someone’s life is perfect, it’s probably not.

The bottom line is that all humans face problems, and the severity of those problems depends on the individual, as they are the only sole judge. And as long as my personality is concerned, I may have the ability to hide my problems behind a wide toothy grin (my teeth are not easily noticeable, but people still seem to notice them and sometimes even compliments me on them 😉 Just kidding! No, not kidding I’m honest about this!

Moral: Do not assume that you are the only person who has problems. Nooo, trust me, there are people who have it worse than us. Do not let people feel sorry for your suffering. I was not as stronger as I’m today and the reason behind is all those  struggles, and falls which did not break me but eventually prepared me to stand back anytime I felt falling apart.

Keep in mind, when we presume others’ lives are always happy and stress-less, it tends to make us more likely to feel depressed and less-fortunate. The reality is that nothing in life is as clear cut as it seems; most of the time it’s quite a bumpy road that we have to travel on. And that is what makes us stronger.

3 thoughts on “The Grass Is Always Greener On The Other Side Of The Fence

  1. Very few people can see through life. Very few people give time to empathize with the burden of others. People sometimes come to presume that they are alone in their concerns. Yes they are. But there are other human beings who had their own kind of burdens much worse than we would guess. There is a line “The one who can smile more and laugh openly has seen the worse for she/he know not to miss a single chance to be happy”.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for this. I thought I was the only one..This sums up my life. I have a job, business and family and I work hard and I smile and laugh with everyone but deep down inside, I’m feeling something else… I can’t sleep for all the thoughts of self loathing I have. No one knows how I feel about myself as I would never tell anyone at work or my family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

